EGR will use Hendrick motors in 2013

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Earnhardt Ganassi Racing will switch to Hendrick Motorsports engines in 2013, EGR team sources confirmed Friday at Texas Motor Speedway.

Chip Ganassi, the co-owner of EGR with Teresa Earnhardt and Felix Sabates, is leaving the Earnhardt-Childress Racing engines program.

NASCAR team owner Richard Childress said Ganassi's departure will not have a major effect on the program.

"The entire engine operation is housed at our shop," Childress said Friday. "We will have some new customers next year that we'll announce later. It's a strong operation, and this really won't change much for us."

Childress added that Earnhardt-Childress Racing will supply engines for Furniture Row Racing in Sprint Cup and some Grand-Am sports car teams. He also said he has no plans to change the name of the engine program.

Ganassi's two-car team, with drivers Jamie McMurray and Juan Pablo Montoya, has struggled the last two seasons.

EGR hasn't won a race since 2010. McMurray is 20th in the 2012 Sprint Cup standings and Montoya is 22nd. Neither driver has posted a top-five finish this year.

Hendrick Motorsports supplies engines for its four-car team, along with Stewart-Haas Racing and Phoenix Racing.