Donnie Allison one of five to make up Talladega's class of '09

TALLADEGA, Ala. -- Big brother Bobby Allison made it in long ago. Now little brother Donnie has joined him as Alabama boys on Alabama turf at Talladega's International Motorsports Hall of Fame.

Donnie Allison, 69, was one of five inductees who will make up the 2009 class, which was announced Friday at Talladega Superspeedway.

"It's hard to put into words," he said. "Without a doubt, it's the biggest honor ever bestowed on me. I'm really at a loss for words, believe it or not."

Legendary team owner Bud Moore joins Allison, along with car owner and race promoter J.C. Agajanian, former NASCAR Modifieds champion Jerry Cook and former car owner Raymond Parks.

Bobby Allison, who had 84 Cup victories and won the 1983 championship, was inducted into the hall in 1993. Donnie didn't reach Bobby's lofty status in racing, but his career accomplishments included victory in the 1970 World 600 and a fourth-place finish in the Indy 500 that season, earning him rookie of the year honors.

Many fans know Donnie Allison best for his part in the three-man brawl on the Daytona infield in 1979, when he and Bobby traded blows with Cale Yarborough on the first national TV broadcast of the event.

Allison said his favorite career moments were his two victories at Talladega.

"This is my home state and I call it my home track," Allison said. "You want to see a good race, you come to Talladega."

One of the men Donnie drove for is Moore, who became one of the most successful team owners in NASCAR history. Moore's drivers also included Joe Weatherly, Dale Earnhardt Sr. and Darrell Waltrip. Weatherly won two championships (1962, '63) driving for Moore.

Moore, 83, was the crew chief for Buck Baker's championship season in 1957.

Parks, 94, was the car owner of the first NASCAR champion when Red Byron won the title in 1949. Cook, 69, won six NASCAR Modifieds championships in the 1970s, and later became the director of the Modifieds division.

Agajanian, who died in 1984, won two Indy 500s as a car owner with Troy Ruttman in 1952 and Parnelli Jones in 1963.

Terry Blount covers motorsports for ESPN.com. He can be reached at terry@blountspeak.com.