NASCAR unveils Eldora qualifying

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Qualifying will include heat races when the Truck Series moves to dirt for the inaugural July 24 race at Eldora Speedway.

Instead of setting the field with traditional two-lap runs, NASCAR announced Tuesday that qualifying on this half-mile track owned by Tony Stewart will feature a traditional two-lap session, five qualifying races and a champion's provisional.

The field will be limited to 30 trucks instead of the normal 36. Here's how it will work:

• Two-lap qualifying runs will determine starting positions for the qualifying races.

• There will be five qualifying races, eight laps each, and only green flag laps count.

• The top five trucks in qualifying will start on the pole for their respective qualifying race. The highest non-locked-in truck will transfer to race from each qualifying race.

• At the completion of the qualifying races, 25 trucks will have earned a spot in the feature.

• The Last Chance race will consist of 15 laps for those not in the top 25. The top four finishers will transfer into the feature event in positions 26 through 29.

• Position 30 will be the most recent past series champion that has not qualified. If that spot is not filled by an eligible champion, it will be assigned to the next-highest finishing driver in the Last Chance race.

"NASCAR and Eldora Speedway have collectively worked together to come up with a format that embraces the history of dirt track racing while also ensuring that full-time competitors have an opportunity to be a part of this special event," said Chad Little, the Truck Series director. "This will also add an exciting element for the fans and we look forward to putting on a great show at this unique venue."

The main race will be 150 laps divided into three segments -- 60 laps, 50 and 40.

There will be pit stops between each segment, with teams having the opportunity to change tires and work on their trucks.

This is the first time NASCAR has held a race from one of its top three series on dirt since Sept. 30, 1970, when Richard Petty won at the one-mile State Fairgrounds Speedway in Raleigh, N.C.