Williams driver Webber wins Lorenzo Bandini trophy

LONDON -- Australian Mark Webber has followed in the slipstream of Michael Schumacher and Fernando Alonso as winner of Italy's prestigious Lorenzo Bandini trophy.

The trophy, awarded annually to an outstanding Formula One
driver, is named after the Italian racer who died after
crashing his Ferrari in the 1967 Monaco Grand Prix.

The Williams driver will receive the award in the town of
Brisighella, Bandini's hometown, before the San Marino
Grand Prix next week at nearby Imola.

Renault's world champion Alonso won the award last year,
after McLaren's Kimi Raikkonen in 2004 and Ferrari's Schumacher
the previous season.