Wales include uncapped Rhys Carre and Owen Lane to World Cup squad

Wales celebrating Six Nations Grand Slam title earlier this year. Photo by Adam Davy/PA Images via Getty Images

Wales have called up uncapped players Rhys Carre and Owen Lane to their 42-man training squad in preparation for this year's World Cup.

A total of 36 players from the Six Nations Grand Slam winning team have been named in the training squad.

Back-row forwards Taulupe Faletau, Josh Navidi and Aaron Shingler have also been added in anticipation from returning to full fitness before the competition in Japan.

Wales will head over to Switzerland and Turkey for summer training camps and they will face England and Ireland in the final preparation matches.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland will step down from the position after the tournament this summer.

"It is exciting to name our training squad and to get the RWC ball rolling," said Gatland in a statement. "The last couple of years have been about building depth and exposing players and we have done that well so we have kept the numbers down to make the squad as manageable as possible.

"We have been really impressed with Rhys (Carre) and with Owen (Lane). They have both been on our succession plan for a while and it will be good to have them in camp with us and to see what they are able to do.

"We are looking forward to the squad meeting up and a hard summer of work ahead of us. We have planned it meticulously and the plans have been in place for a good while now. Looking back to 2011 and 2015 we were happy with our preparation so we are hoping to take that into this year and hopefully build on it."

Full Wales Squad:

Forwards (23):

Leon Brown, Rhys Carre, Rob Evans, Tomas Francis, Wyn Jones, Samson Lee, Dillon Lewis, Nicky Smith, Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias, Ken Owens, Jake Ball, Adam Beard, Bradley Davies, Cory Hill, Alun Wyn Jones, James Davies, Taulupe Faletau, Ross Moriarty, Josh Navidi, Aaron Shingler, Justin Tipuric, Aaron Wainwright.

Backs (19):

Aled Davies, Gareth Davies, Tomos Williams, Gareth Anscombe, Dan Biggar, Jarrod Evans, Rhys Patchell, Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes, Owen Watkin, Scott Williams, Josh Adams, Hallam Amos, Steff Evans, Leigh Halfpenny, Owen Lane, George North, Jonah Holmes, Liam Williams.