Six Nations: France's Dupont among five first-team players out of Scotland clash

Antoine Dupont was named player of the championship after last year's Six Nations, when France finished in second place. Photo By Brendan Moran/Sportsfile via Getty Images

France's star scrum-half Antoine Dupont and four other first-team players who tested positive for COVID-19 are out of the squad for next Sunday's Six Nations match against Scotland.

The French rugby federation (FFR) said on Sunday that further tests carried out on Saturday showed that prop Julien Marchand and center Arthur Vincent also tested positive for the virus.

- Play ESPN's Rugby Pick'em for FREE

Dupont, prop Mohammed Haouas, winger Gabin Villiere and lineout coach Karim Ghezal tested positive after their tests on Friday.

All five players started last Sunday's 15-13 win at Ireland in Dublin and have to observe a minimum period of seven days in isolation. Head coach Fabien Galthie also tested positive after that game.

Two other squad players, lock Swann Rebbadj and prop Jean-Baptiste Gros, were left out after being considered to have been in contact with two teammates from club side Toulon who tested positive.

The seven replacements called up to the 31-man squad on Sunday are props Hassane Kolingar and Dorian Aldegheri; hooker Teddy Baubigny; uncapped scrumhalf Maxime Lucu; centers Jonathan Danty and Yoram Moefana; and uncapped winger Donovan Taofifenua.

Les Bleus are looking for a third straight win of this campaign when they host Scotland at Stade de France.

France opened with a resounding 50-10 win in Italy with Dupont among the try scorers in Rome. He was voted the tournament's best player last year.

Scotland secured an impressive 11-6 win away to England and then was edged out 25-24 at home to Wales, despite leading 17-8 at the break.

France squad:


Dorian Aldegheri, Uini Atonio, Cyril Baille, Demba Bamba, Teddy Baubigny, Pierre Bourgarit, Hassane Kolingar, Peato Mauvaka, Killian Geraci, Bernard Le Roux, Romain Taofifenua, Paul Willemse.


Sebastien Bezy, Maxime Lucu, Baptiste Serin, Louis Carbonel, Matthieu Jalibert, Pierre-Louis Barassi, Jonathan Danty, Gael Fickou, Yoram Moefana, Damian Penaud, Donovan Taofifenua, Teddy Thomas, Anthony Bouthier, Brice Dulin.