Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang edges Yaya Toure as African player of year

Borussia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang was named African Footballer of the Year over Manchester City's Yaya Toure on Thursday night.

The result ends a streak of four consecutive awards from the Confederation of African Football for the Ivorian Toure, who had won every year since 2011.

Gabon international Aubameyang, who finished second to Toure a year ago, earned 143 points this time, barely edging runner-up Toure's 136 in CAF's rankings.

Aubameyang has scored 24 goals in 23 games in all competitions this season for Dortmund. He also scored 16 Bundesliga goals in the previous campaign.

Swansea's Ghanaian midfielder Andre Ayew finished third with 112 points.

Herve Renard was named coach of the year after leading Ivory Coast to glory in the African Nations Cup.

Tanzanian Mbwana Aly Samatt was recognised as the best player on an African club, the first time a player from east African has won the award.

Nigeria's Victor Osimhen was named Youth Player of the Year while his countryman Etebo Peter Oghenekaro received Most Promising Talent of the Year.