Australia's Samantha Kerr shortlisted for inaugural women's Ballon d'Or award

Australia international Samantha Kerr has been shortlisted for the inaugural women's Ballon d'Or award.

The prestigious prize, which has been awarded to the best male player in the world by France Football magazine since 1956, is recognising women players for the first time this year.

The award will be presented in Paris on Dec. 3 with Kerr one of 15 players in contention for the prize.

Kerr was controversially snubbed for the FIFA's world Player of the Year award last year despite inspiring Australia to success in the 2017 Tournament of Nations, where she scored four times as the Matildas won all three of their games -- including victory over the top-ranked United States in the final.

She was named the Asian player of the year, the W-League player of the year and the most valuable player in the 2018 NWSL following her strong displays for Chicago Red Stars.

Among those up against Kerr are Brazilian star forward Marta along with Norway's Ada Hegerberg and German international Dzsenifer Marozsan.

Women's Ballon d'or nominees:

Lucy Bronze, England
Pernille Harder, Denmark
Ada Hegerberg, Norway
Amandine Henry, France
Lindsey Horan, United States
Sam Kerr, Australia
Fran Kirby, England
Saki Kumagai, Japan
Amel Majri, France
Dzsenifer Marozsan, Germany
Marta, Brazil
Lieke Martens, Netherlands
Megan Rapinoe, United States
Wendie Renard, France
Christine Sinclair, Canada