Brisbane Roar appoint former Liverpool player Robbie Fowler as new manager

Liverpool legend Robbie Fowler has made his first serious move into coaching after being named head coach of A-League strugglers Brisbane Roar.

Fowler, who scored 183 goals in 369 matches for the English Premier League giants, was confirmed as the Roar's new coach on Tuesday.

It's the first significant foray into coaching for the 44-year-old, who retired from playing in 2012.

"I'm really looking forward to the challenge and am determined to bring success to a club that has such a proud history in the Hyundai A-League," Fowler said in a club statement.

"I'm really keen to get started and make a difference."

Fowler was briefly player-coach of Thai club Muangthong United before hanging up his boots. Apart from that he has no other senior coaching experience.

It's understood Fowler was selected from a field of about 100 candidates for the full-time position, which was vacated by ex-Socceroos striker John Aloisi when he resigned in late December.

Fowler's first challenge will be rebuilding a squad which has endured an awful 2018-19 season.

With just one match remaining, the Roar are second last having won just four of 26 matches this season and were humiliated 6-1 by Newcastle last weekend.

Veteran captain Matt McKay has announced he will retire after Thursday's Anzac Day clash with Adelaide at Suncorp Stadium, while Brazilian veteran Henrique will not be part of the playing group next season.

French marquee Eric Bautheac is among several Roar players off-contract and has been linked to Melbourne Victory before an expected shake-up of the Brisbane squad.

Interim coach Darren Davies will be at the helm for the Adelaide game, although Fowler is expected to be presented to the Roar fans at the match.

Davies will remain at the club as an assistant to Fowler, with a second assistant to be appointed by the ex-England international striker.

It will be Fowler's third stint in the A-League after playing with the defunct North Queensland Fury in 2009-10 and then Perth Glory in 2010-11.