Messi wins European Golden Shoe for sixth time

Lionel Messi has won the European Golden Shoe for the sixth time overall and third year in a row.

Barcelona star Messi, who retains the award after his record-breaking fifth win last season, ended the champions' La Liga campaign with 36 goals, three ahead of second-placed Kylian Mbappe, who scored once in PSG's 3-1 loss to Reims on Friday.

Sampdoria forward Fabio Quagliarella finished third in the rankings with 26 Serie A strikes.

The Golden Shoe table is ranked on points rather than goals, with goals scored in Europe's top five leagues worth two points. However, strikes in the Turkish Super Lig are worth 1.5, which is why Kasimpasa's Mbaye Diagne finished fourth with 30 goals.

In addition to Messi's six triumphs, Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo has won it four times -- the first coming with Manchester United in 2007-08 and the final three with Real Madrid.

Since 2008, La Liga has now provided 13 of the 14 winners, with Atletico Madrid striker Diego Forlan the other player from Spain to top the chart in 2008-09.