JDT's Hazwan Bakri nets a brace at 2016 Malaysia national football awards

Ahmad Hazwan Bakri admitted being surprised after he was crowned the biggest winner of the 2016 Malaysia national football awards, after bagging the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award in Kuala Lumpur on Friday.

"I did not expect to win this, especially given some of my performance this year. But this award is an inspiration and will give me a huge boost for 2017," said Hazwan, who also scooped the best striker gong.

The former Selangor forward's double accolade comes off the back of his big move to reigning Malaysia Super League (MSL) champions Johor Darul Ta'zim (JDT) in early December.

But Hazwan's season did not start well, as he battled an hamstring injury for much of the first-half of the campaign.

The soft-spoken hitman however, returned stronger to inspire the Red Giants to the Malaysia Cup final.

His late season form was admirable, the highlight being two strikes against T-Team in the competition.

In total, he scored seven goals in 25 matches for the Red Giants in 2016.

JDT was also one of the biggest winners of the night after they took home the best team award, joint best supported club, best website and social media awards.

Their star player Safiq Rahim -- who won the MVP award in 2015 -- was named best midfielder after inspiring the club to the MSL, FA Cup and Charity Shield titles. Kedah's Malaysia Cup winning coach Tan Cheng Hoe was deservedly named best coach, while his charge Rizal Ghazali was named best defender.

Kelantan's Khairul Fahmi Che Mat meanwhile took home the best goalkeeper award after keeping 11 clean sheets for the Red Warriors.

FIFA Puskas award nominee Faiz Subri also received a special recognition award for his knuckleball free kick against Pahang in the MSL in February.

The Penang forward will make history if he goes on to clinch FIFA's most beautiful goal of the award in Zurich on Jan. 9, 2017.

2016 Malaysia National Football Awards winners list

1. Most Valuable Player - Ahmad Hazwan Bakri (Selangor)

2. Best Striker - Ahmad Hazwan Bakri (Selangor)

3. Best Midfielder - Safiq Rahim (JDT)

4. Best Defender - Rizal Ghazali (Kedah)

5. Best Goalkeeper - Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (Kelantan)

6. Best Coach - Tan Cheng Hoe (Kedah)

7. Best Import - Jorge Pereyra Diaz (JDT)

8. Most Promising Player - Safawi Rasid (T-Team)

9. Fair Play Award - Negeri Sembilan

10. Best Female Player - Dandree Rofinus (MISC-MIFA)

11. Top Local Goalscorer (MSL) - Fazrul Hazli (Perak)

12. Top Import Goalscorer (MSL) - Jorge Pereyra Diaz (JDT)

13. Top Local Goalscorer - (Premier League) Abdul Malik Mat Ariff (Kuantan FA)

14. Top Import Goalscorer (Premier League) - Ilija Spasojevic (Melaka United)

15. Best Team - JDT

16. Best Supporters - Melaka United/JDT

17. Best Social Media - JDT

18. Best Website - JDT

19. Community Award - Subadron Aziz Football Academy and Kindness Malaysia

20. Special President Cup Award - Kelantan

21. Special Youth Award - Bukit Jalil Sports School U17

22. Welcome Award - MISC MIFA/PKNP FC

23. Special Recognition - Faiz Subri

24. Special Tribute - The late Ah Wa