Let's play FIFA! Wolves left flying Premier League flag in #UltimateQuaranTeam challenge

FIFA 20 Predicts: How the Champions League will pan out (2:30)

Real Madrid less resistant than a sponge! The Exploding Heads explores how this year's UCL will conclude. (2:30)

We all thought live football was gone from our lives, but clubs all around the world are signing up for FIFA tournaments -- and we're keeping track of them!

JUMP TO: Asensio steers Real Madrid to FIFA 20 glory

The Ultimate Quaran-Team FIFA 20 tournament is steadily reaching the business end with just eight teams now left in the running.

Tuesday saw the round-of-16 ties completed, with Middlesbrough arguably putting in the performance of the round as they fought back from two goals down to win 4-2 against VVV-Venlo.

Wolves ensured there would be a Premier League team in the quarterfinals by also coming from behind to see off Mansfield Town with goals from Raul Jimenez, Adama Traore and Joao Moutinho.

Wolves will come up against FC Sion in the next round after the Swiss team recorded a shock 2-1 win over PSV despite falling behind early on.

There were also five goals to savour as Standard Liege knocked Lokomotiv Moscow out with a dramatic 84th-minute winner.

Lille, Istanbul Basaksehir, FC Groningen, and Feyenoord also made it through to make sure that the Ultimate Quaran-Team quarters are lined up thus.

With real football postponed until further notice, English League Two side Leyton Orient organised a huge 128-team competition that has seen real world clubs taking each other on in video game form.

As well as passing the time during a football blackout, the "Quaran-Team" tournament is also raising vital money for charity as well as Football League clubs, many of whom will be facing financial uncertainty in the coming months.

Initially aiming for 64 clubs, Orient had to expand to competition to welcome 128 teams from all corners of the footballing community to create a festival of FIFA football.

The quarterfinals are due to begin soon.


FIFA Predicts: Prem top scorers vs. top defenders

Jamie Vardy in goal? The Exploding Heads pit the Premier League's top attackers against its best defenders.

Asensio steers Real Madrid to FIFA 20 glory

The La Liga FIFA 20 tournament reached an exciting finale on Sunday as Real Madrid ran out winners of the inaugural quarantine-friendly competition.

With Marco Asensio at the helm, the virtual Real powered to a 4-2 victory over Leganes (represented by Aitor Rubial) in the final after seeing off Eibar in the semis.

Luka Modric was among the scorers in the final for Asensio's all-conquering XI, who now have the honour of being the inaugural winners of both the European Cup and this (no less prestigious) online competition.

The championship was organised by Spanish YouTuber and gamer Ibai Llanos and involved players from all of Spain's 20 top-flight teams.

As well as helping to keep folks entertained in the absence of real football, the event has also helped raise around €142,000 ($152,000) to help in the fight against the coronavirus.

"It has been a spectacular tournament," Asensio said after securing the win, with which he was clearly delighted.

"The goal was to have a good time, laugh, entertain ourselves in these difficult times for everyone, and donate in the fight against COVID-19, and we have succeeded!"

Whether Asensio will be forced to defend his crown in a second installment of the franchise, only time will tell.

The idea to create a full tourney came about after around 60,000 football-starved fans tuned in to watch a virtual derby between Borja Iglesias of Real Betis and Sergio Reguilon of Sevilla -- which saw the former triumph in a dramatic 6-5 win for Betis.

The competition is the brainchild of esports aficionado Llanos, who serves as tournament organiser, host, drawmaster and even live commentator -- all while remaining comfortable in his bathrobe at home.

Here's how the first edition of the competition shook out, in full:

Congratulations to all involved, namely:

Alaves: Lucas Perez
Athletic Bilbao: Gorka Guruzeta
Atletico Madrid: Marcos Llorente
Barcelona: Sergi Roberto*
Celta Vigo: Kevin Vazquez
Eibar: Edu Exposito
Espanyol: Adri Embarba
Getafe: Jason
Granada: Jose Martinez
Leganes: Aitor Ruibal
Levante: Carlos Clerc
Mallorca: Alex Pozo*
Osasuna: Ruben Garcia
Real Betis: Borja Iglesias
Real Madrid: Marco Asensio
Real Sociedad: Adnan Januzaj
Real Valladolid: Pedro Porro
Sevilla: Sergio Reguilon
Valencia: Carlos Soler
Villarreal: Manuel Morlanes

*Clubs had to forfeit games due to their clubs' deals with PES creators Konami