Carabao Cup third-round draw: Man Utd host Burton, Foxes face Liverpool

Manchester United begin the defence of the Carabao Cup by hosting Burton in the third round.

United, who beat Southampton in last season's Wembley final, will welcome Nigel Clough's Championship side to Old Trafford after the 40-minute draw was made in Beijing on Thursday.

Jose Mourinho's side have only ever played Burton twice before, when the then non-league club earned a famous FA Cup replay after drawing 0-0 at Old Trafford before United won 5-0 at the second attempt.

League One side Doncaster have been rewarded for beating Championship club Hull with a trip to the Emirates Stadium to face Arsenal, while the other third-tier club Bristol Rovers visit Wolves.

Manchester City, winners in 2014, have been drawn away at West Brom, eight-time winners Liverpool visit Leicester, Chelsea will play Nottingham Forest at home and Everton host Sunderland.

Tottenham will play the winner of Barnsley versus Derby, Burnley's record signing Chris Wood will have a quick reunion with his former club Leeds as the Yorkshire side head to Turf Moor, and Huddersfield make a repeat journey to Crystal Palace, the scene of their opening-day win in the Premier League.

Elsewhere, West Ham take on Bolton, Reading host Swansea, Stoke head to Bristol City and Brighton make the trip along the south coast to Bournemouth.

The draw was made in China at 11.30 a.m. local time, to try to boost the EFL's exposure in Asia, though it was not televised after mishaps in the last two draws.

The first-round draw, held in Thailand where the maker of energy drink Carabao is based, showed Charlton playing two teams in the on-screen graphic.

Then former England winger John Salako, conducting the second-round draw, got confused about which teams were playing at home or away.

Although starting late, there were no such embarrassments this time around, with each tie revealed on Twitter around two minutes apart on Twitter.

The third round will be played during the week of Sept. 18.

Full draw:

West Brom vs. Manchester City
Everton vs. Sunderland
Leicester City vs. Liverpool
Manchester United vs. Burton Albion
Brentford vs. Norwich City
Wolverhampton Wanderers vs. Bristol Rovers
Burnley vs. Leeds United
Arsenal vs. Doncaster Rovers
Bristol City vs. Stoke City
Reading vs. Swansea City
Aston Villa vs. Middlesbrough
Chelsea vs. Nottingham Forest
West Ham United vs. Bolton Wanderers
Crystal Palace vs. Huddersfield Town
Tottenham Hotspur vs. Barnsley/Derby County
AFC Bournemouth vs. Brighton and Hove Albion