<
>

When does January, February transfer window close in 2021?

play
Can Chelsea rival Bayern for Upamecano's signature? (1:16)

Mark Ogden assesses where Dayot Upamecano will land this summer if he leaves RB Leipzig. (1:16)

Here, we take a look at the transfer rules which govern each league in the winter window in January and February 2021.

Clubs are still able to sign players as free agents after the deadline, as long as they are not officially attached to any club when the window closes, which is Feb. 1 in most leagues because Jan. 31 falls on a Sunday.

Premier League transfer deadline

The transfer market will close at 11 p.m. GMT / 6 p.m. ET on Monday, Feb. 1.

- Check out all the Premier League transfers

The deadline is the same for Championship clubs, should they be looking to bring players in on loan from the Premier League.

La Liga transfer deadline

The window will close at 11 p.m. GMT / 6 p.m. ET on Monday, Feb. 1.

Serie A transfer deadline

Last season, Italy was also due to have a truncated winter window, closing on Jan. 18, but a few weeks before clubs voted to return it to a month-long window.

The January window will close at 7 p.m. GMT / 2 p.m. ET on Monday, Feb. 1.

Bundesliga transfer deadline

German clubs have set their transfer window at 5 p.m. GMT / midday ET on Monday, Feb. 1.

Ligue 1 transfer deadline

Ligue 1 will close its window on Friday, Jan. 31 at 11 p.m. GMT / 6 p.m. ET.

MLS transfer deadline

Major League Soccer's first window of the season official opens on Wednesday, Feb. 10, though many transfer deals are already being announced ahead of the start of the 2021 MLS season on April 3 and 4.

- Check out all the MLS transfers

The first window of the season will close on Tuesday, May 4.

Other deadlines

A handful of top leagues will still be able to buy players after Feb. 1. The deadlines are:

Jan. 31: Mexico
Feb. 4: Portugal
Feb. 16 to March 15: Australia
Feb. 25: Russia
Feb. 26: China

MORE: All transfers