Wolfsburg's Bas Dost set for debut with Netherlands squad

In-form Wolfsburg striker Bas Dost was named in the Netherlands squad on Friday to take on Turkey in a European Championship qualifier and Spain in a friendly.

The call-up for Dost, who has 13 goals in the Bundesliga this year, gives the Dutch forward line a distinctly German feel. Also included in Guus Hiddink's squad were Bayern Munich winger Arjen Robben and Schalke striker Klaas-Jan Huntelaar.

Dost has been in the Netherlands squad before but has yet to make his debut.

"Bas had a difficult first half of the season before Christmas," Hiddink said. But in 2015, "every ball he touches flies in."

The remaining forwards -- Memphis Depay, Luuk de Jong and Luciano Narsingh -- all come from PSV Eindhoven, the runaway leaders of the Eredivisie.

Netherlands captain Robin van Persie and centre-back Ron Vlaar are missing through injury for the Euro 2016 qualifier against Turkey on March 28, and the friendly against Spain three days later. Both matches are at Amsterdam Arena.

Robben is in the squad but in doubt because of a pinched nerve in his back. Hiddink said he would undergo medical checks on Monday.

Netherlands are third in Group A behind the Czech Republic and Iceland. Turkey are fourth but would move up a place by beating the Dutch. Only the top two teams are guaranteed to progress directly to the tournament in France next year.

The full squad:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Kenneth Vermeer (Feyenoord), Tim Krul (Newcastle United).

Defenders: Daley Blind (Manchester United), Jeffrey Bruma (PSV Eindhoven), Daryl Janmaat (Newcastle United), Bruno Martins Indi (Porto), Joel Veltman (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Lazio), Gregory van der Wiel (Paris Saint-Germain), Jetro Willems (PSV).

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (Olympiakos), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Napoli), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV).

Forwards: Memphis Depay (PSV), Luuk de Jong (PSV), Bas Dost (Wolfsburg), Luciano Narsingh (PSV), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich).