Hirving Lozano, Alex Morgan win CONCACAF player of the year awards

Mexico and the United States split the CONCACAF awards for best player of 2018, with El Tri winger Hirving Lozano named male player of the year and the U.S. striker Alex Morgan taking the female prize.

Lozano, at 23, becomes the youngest ever winner of the award on the men's side after consistent form for Dutch side PSV Eindhoven and a famous goal to help Mexico to a 1-0 win over Germany at the World Cup.

It's the third consecutive occasion Morgan has won the women's prize and her fourth CONCACAF player of the year award since they began in 2013. The 29-year-old Orlando Pride player scored 18 goals in 19 appearances for the U.S. national team in 2018.

Real Madrid and Costa Rica goalkeeper Keylor Navas finished in second place behind Lozano in the male category, with Toronto FC's Sebastian Giovinco in third.

Behind Morgan on the female side was Jamaica's Khadija "Bunny" Shaw, followed by the U.S. national team's Lindsey Horan.

The goal of the year was awarded to U.S. international Joe Corona for his strike from outside the penalty area for Club America in CONCACAF Champions League action against Tauro.

In other categories, current San Jose Earthquakes head coach Matias Almeyda picked up the award for coach of the year in men's football, following his CONCACAF Champions League win with all-Mexican side Chivas last April.

Jamaica's Hue Menzies was coach of the year on the women's side, after he helped qualify The Reggae Girlz to the World Cup for the first time. The team of the year prize also went to the Jamaican women's national team, who finished third in World Cup qualifying to book a place at France 2019.

The winners were announced after an equally-weighted vote between national team head coaches, national team captains, media members and fans.