By the numbers - Can Deschamps join Zagallo and Beckenbauer?

France are in their third World Cup final, after seeing off Belgium 1-0. ESPN brings you the best numbers.


France are through to the final of the World Cup for the third time overall, and for the first time in 12 years. They last made the World Cup final in 2006, beating Portugal 1-0 in the semifinal, before being denied by Italy on penalties in the final. They also made the final in 1998, when they won their only World Cup title on home soil, meaning they've won all three of their semifinals in Europe.


Belgium have been eliminated at the World Cup semifinals for the second time, matching their finish at the 1986 World Cup in Mexico. They were beaten 2-0 in the semis then by Argentina, who went on to lift the World Cup by beating West Germany 3-2 in the final.


Didier Deschamps, who went on to lift the World Cup trophy in 1998 as France captain, will now lead the team in the final as a manager. He joins Franz Beckenbauer (1974 and 1990), Mario Zagallo (1958 and 1970) and Rudi Voller (1990 and 2002) to have done this double. Only Voller among them failed to win the trophy as coach, though all four have won the trophy as player.


Belgium have failed to defeat France in three World Cup meetings. France had previously beaten Belgium 3-1 in the first round of the 1938 World Cup, and then 4-2 in the third-place playoff of the 1986 World Cup. This is also France's most wins against a single opponent in World Cup history.


France are the sixth team to have made at least three World Cup finals, joining Netherlands on that number. Only Germany (eight), Brazil (seven), Italy (six) and Argentina (five) have made more final matches at the World Cup.


Samuel Umtiti scored his third international goal for France, and his first in a competitive match. He had previously scored in friendlies against England and Italy. He is also the third defender from France to have scored at the 2018 World Cup, after Benjamin Pavard and Raphaël Varane.


Spanish-born Roberto Martinez failed to match George Raynor (English coach of Sweden in 1958) and Ernst Happel (Austrian-born coach of Netherlands in 1978) as foreign coaches to have taken their teams to the World Cup final. This now means the record of not a single foreign coach taking a team to the World Cup title will stay for another four years, with the remaining three coaches in the fray -- Didier Deschamps, Gareth Southgate and Zlatko Dalic -- all from the competing nations.