Emre Can, Serge Gnabry, Marc-Andre ter Stegen in Germany U21 Euro squad

Liverpool's Emre Can, Arsenal's Serge Gnabry and Barcelona's Marc-Andre ter Stegen have been named in Germany's 28-man preliminary squad for the upcoming European Under-21 Championships in the Czech Republic.

Germany under-21 coach Horst Hrubesch has selected the Premier League duo and Barca goalkeeper along with and 18 Bundesliga players for his squad, which is set to be reduced to 23 by June 7.

Can and Gnabry will join the likes of World Cup winner Matthias Ginter, Hoffenheim attacker Kevin Volland as well as Schalke hopefuls Max Meyer and Leon Goretzka, who will be returning following a lengthy injury-related absences.

Other notable names in the squad are future Bayern Munich midfielder Joshua Kimmich, sought-after midfield talent Johannes Geis of Mainz and the Wolfsburg duo Robin Knoche and Maximilian Arnold.

"We have unbelievable talent in our squad," Hrubesch told the official DFB website.

Germany will head into a training camp on June 2, with all players but ter Stegen -- who is set to play in the Champions League final against Juventus in Berlin on June 6 -- joining up.

The 2015 European Championships will take place in the Czech Republic from June 17 through to June 30, with Germany drawn in a group alongside hosts along with Denmark and Serbia.

The 2009 European champions are targeting a semifinal run at the least, which would also secure Germany a first participation at the Olympic Games since the 1988 games in Seoul, South Korea.

Preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Timo Horn (Cologne), Loris Karius (Mainz), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Defenders: Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Christian Gunter (Freiburg), Dominique Heintz (Kaiserslautern), Robin Knoche (Wolfsburg), Julian Korb (Borussia Monchengladbach), Willi Orban (Kaiserslautern), Nico Schulz (Hertha), Jeremy Toljan (Hoffenheim)

Midfield: Maximilian Arnold (Wolfsburg), Leonardo Bittencourt (Hannover), Emre Can (Liverpool), Kerem Demirbay (Kaiserslautern), Johannes Geis (Mainz), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Joshua Kimmich (Leipzig), Felix Klaus (Freiburg), Moritz Leitner (Stuttgart), Yunus Malli (Mainz), Max Meyer (Schalke), Amin Younes (Kaiserslautern), Jean Zimmer (Kaiserslautern)

Attack: Serge Gnabry (Arsenal), Philipp Hofmann (Kaiserslautern), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim)