Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors hold off Ulsan Hyundai to win fifth consecutive K League 1 title

Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors have been crowned champions of South Korea once again after claiming a fifth consecutive K League 1 title with a 2-0 win over Jeju United on the final day of the 2021 season. Seong Joon Cho / Power Sport Images for The AFC

Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors were crowned champions of South Korea's K League 1 for the fifth consecutive season on Sunday, after a 2-0 win over Jeju United saw them finish the campaign two points ahead of Ulsan Hyundai.

Following a goalless first half at the Jeonju World Cup Stadium, Han Kyo-won opened the scoring with a poacher's finish in the 55th minute before Song Min-kyu sealed the victory with 16 minutes remaining as he beat the offside trap to race through and finish into the bottom corner.

The result ensured Jeonbuk would not be caught by Ulsan, who did their best to keep alive their title hopes with a 2-0 win over Daegu FC thanks to first-half goals from Seol Young-woo and Oh Se-hun.

While extending their record of five consecutive league titles, Jeonbuk also edged further ahead in the K League 1's all-time champions ranking on nine titles, now to ahead of Seongnam FC.

Meanwhile, Ulsan will once again be left to rue what could have been with this being their third straight runners-up finish, having also lost out to Jeonbuk on the final day of the season last year.

As the champions of South Korea, Jeonbuk have automatically qualified for the 2022 AFC Champions League, while Ulsan and third-placed Daegu FC will have to progress through the qualifying playoffs.