Don Garber, Brandi Chastain among U.S. Soccer Hall of Fame nominees

Major League Soccer commissioner Don Garber and former women's national team star Brandi Chastain are among the nominees for induction into the 2016 U.S. Soccer Hall of Fame class.

Garber, who has been the face of MLS since 1999, is one of seven individuals included on the Builder's ballot. While Chastain, a two-time Women's World Cup winner and gold medalist, is in her first year of eligibility as a former player.

Other first-timers include MLS' second all-time regular season goals scorer Jeff Cunningham, Josh Wolf, Heather Mitts and Wilman Conde.

Others on the Builders ballot are former national team coach Steve Sampson and former U.S. Soccer Federation president Bob Contiguglia.

Also announced on Monday were the Veteran's Ballot nominees, which included MLS stalwart Mark Chung and former national team member Richie Williams.

Voting will begin immediately for all three categories and will continue for three weeks, shortly after which the results will be announced. Details for the induction ceremony will be given at a later date.

According to a U.S. Soccer release, voting will be performed by "all past and present full men's and women's national team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS and NWSL Commissioners, U.S. Soccer CEO/Secretary General, U.S. Soccer President, designated media members and all Hall of Famers."

The full list of nominees are as follows:

Player Ballot

Chris Armas, Gregg Berhalter, Brandi Chastain, Wilman Conde, Jimmy Conrad, Jeff Cunningham, Frankie Hejduk, Chris Henderson, Chris Klein, Jason Kreis, Eddie Lewis, Clint Mathis, Kate (Sobrero) Markgraf, Tiffeny Milbrett, Heather Mitts, Jaime Moreno, John O'Brien, Ben Olsen, Pat Onstad, Steve Ralston, Ante Razov, Tiffany Roberts, Tony Sanneh, Briana Scurry, Lindsay Tarpley, Taylor Twellman, Aly Wagner, Josh Wolff

Veteran Ballot

Mark Chung, Troy Dayak, Danielle Fotoloulos, Robin Fraser, Brian Kamler, Manny Lagos, Shannon MacMillan, Oscar Pareja, Evan Whitfield, Richie Williams

Builders Ballot

Esse Baharmast, Bob Contiguglia, Don Garber, Joe Machnik, Francisco Marcos, Fritz Marth, Steve Sampson