The 2019 MLS Cup playoffs: Who's in, and when do they start?

Twellman 'stunned' LA Galaxy couldn't secure a home game (1:49)

Jon Champion and Taylor Twellman examine the bracket in the Western Conference for the MLS Cup Playoffs. (1:49)

The Major League Soccer regular season is over and done with, with the MLS Cup playoffs kicking off on the other side of the international break, on Oct. 19, and the Portland Timbers and FC Dallas securing the league's final two postseason places.

Decision Day saw plenty of jockeying for position, with clubs fighting tooth and nail for homefield advantage in this season's new-look playoff format that sees 14 clubs embark on a single-elimination journey to MLS Cup on Nov. 10.

- MLS standings | Schedule | Statistics
- Stream games LIVE, watch replays on ESPN+

So who's in? Who begins their quest for the cup when club football returns after the international break?

Clinched playoff places (seven per conference)

Eastern Conference: New York City FC, Atlanta United, Philadelphia Union, Toronto FC, D.C. United, New York Red Bulls, New England Revolution

Western Conference: LAFC, Seattle Sounders, Real Salt Lake, Minnesota United, LA Galaxy, Portland Timbers, FC Dallas

Round One matchups, schedule and TV details

Eastern Conference

1 New York City FC -- bye

4 Toronto FC vs. 5 D.C. United
- Noon ET, Oct. 19 (Univision)

2 Atlanta United vs. 7 New England Revolution
- 3 p.m. ET, Oct. 19 (Univision)

3 Philadelphia Union vs. 6 New York Red Bulls
- 3 p.m. ET, Oct. 20 (Fox Sports 1)

Western Conference

1 LAFC -- bye

2 Seattle Sounders vs. 7 FC Dallas
- 3:30 p.m. ET, Oct. 19 (Fox Sports 1)

3 Real Salt Lake vs. 6 Portland Timbers
- 10 p.m. ET, Oct. 19 (ESPNNEWS)

4 Minnesota United vs. 5 LA Galaxy
- 8:30 p.m. ET, Oct. 20 (ESPN)

Conference semifinals

Eastern Conference

1 NYCFC vs. 4 Toronto FC / 5 D.C. United
- 7 p.m. ET, Oct. 23 (Fox Sports 1)

2 Atlanta United / 7 New England Revolution vs. 3 Philadelphia Union / 6 New York Red Bulls
- 7:30 p.m. ET, Oct. 24 (ESPN2)
* Location: Home of highest-seeded team

Western Conference

2 Seattle Sounders FC / 7 FC Dallas vs. 3 Real Salt Lake / 6 Portland Timbers
- 10 p.m. ET, Oct. 23 (Fox Sports 1)
* Location: Home of highest-seeded team

1 LAFC vs. TBC
- 10:30 p.m. ET, Oct. 24 (ESPN)

Conference finals

  • West: Tuesday, Oct. 29 (time TBC, ESPN)

  • East: Wednesday, Oct. 30 (time TBC, Fox Sports 1)


  • Sunday, Nov. 10 (3 p.m. ET, ABC, Univision)