Report: MLS to play Liga MX in 2020 All-Star Game at LAFC's stadium

Donovan: New MLS All-Star Game format is 'really cool' (1:09)

Landon Donovan fully supports the decision to have the MLS All-Stars face the best players in Liga MX. (1:09)

The 2020 MLS All-Star Game will be held at Los Angeles' Banc of California Stadium, with the MLS All-Stars taking on their counterparts from Mexico's Liga MX, the Los Angeles Times reported on Monday.

The match is set to take place on July 29 at the home of LAFC, which opened in 2018. An announcement is scheduled to take place on Wednesday with MLS commissioner Don Garber, Liga MX executive president Enrique Bonilla, Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti, former U.S. international Landon Donovan and former Mexico international Pavel Pardo all in attendance.

For the past 15 seasons, MLS has lined up club opposition to play in the match, including the likes of Manchester United (twice), Chelsea (twice) Arsenal, Real Madrid and Juventus. In 2019 Atletico Madrid prevailed 3-0.

But in some ways the novelty has worn off, with the MLS All-Stars having not won in the event since a 2-1 win over Tottenham in 2015. Now the fact that MLS will be facing a Liga MX means the All-Stars will be competing on a more level playing field.

The first time that the MLS All-Star Game involved a club opponent came in 2003 when the All-Stars squared off against Chivas de Guadalajara. That match was held in Carson, Calif. at what is now known as Dignity Health Sports Park, the home of the LA Galaxy.

The match is also the latest sign of increasing cooperation between the two leagues. Recent years have seen the introduction of the Campeones Cup, a match between Mexico's Campeon de Campeones -- which involves the most recent winners of the Apertura and Clausura tournaments -- and the winners of MLS Cup. UNAL Tigres defeated Toronto FC 3-1 in 2018, while Atlanta United prevailed over Club America 3-2 last summer.

The 2019 season also witnessed the inaugural Leagues Cup, which this year involved four teams from each league, and will be expanded in 2020 to involve a total of 16 teams. Cruz Azul won the first edition of that event.