<
>

Men's Olympic Games soccer bracket and fixtures schedule

Check out all the fixtures, venues and kick-off times for Men's Olympic Games soccer and the knockout bracket.

What is the Olympic Games format?

For the men's competition, nations submit a squad of under-23 players -- though up to three of those players can be overage. For example, France U23 have selected 35-year-old Tigres striker Andre-Pierre Gignac, while former Barcelona wing-back Dani Alves, now 38 and playing for Sao Paulo, will feature for Brazil U23.

The 16 nations in Japan have been drawn into four groups of four teams. The top two in each group qualified for the knockout bracket, to play quarterfinals and semifinals, followed by a bronze medal playoff and a gold medal match.

- Men's standings | Women's bracket and fixtures | Women's standings

Fixtures, results and bracket

BRACKET - SEMIFINALS

Tuesday, August 3
30 - Mexico vs. Brazil (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Kashima)
29 - Japan 25 vs. Spain (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Saitama)

BRACKET - BRONZE MEDAL MATCH

Friday, August 6
Japan or Spain vs. Mexico or Brazil (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Saitama)

BRACKET - GOLD MEDAL MATCH

Saturday, August 7
Japan or Spain vs. Mexico or Brazil (7.30 a.m. ET / 11.30 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)

BRACKET - QUARTERFINALS

Saturday, July 31
27 - Spain 5-2 Ivory Coast, AET (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Rifu)
25 - Japan 0-0 New Zealand, pens 4-2 (5 a.m. ET / 9 a.m. GMT, Kashima)
28 - Brazil 1-0 Egypt (6 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. GMT, Saitama)
26 - South Korea 3-6 Mexico (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)

GROUP STAGE

Thursday, July 22
Group C: Egypt 0-0 Spain (Sapporo)
Group A: Mexico 4-1 France (Tokyo)
Group B: New Zealand 1-0 South Korea (Kashima)
Group D: Ivory Coast 2-1 Saudi Arabia (Yokohama)
Group C: Argentina 0-2 Australia (Sapporo)
Group B: Honduras 0-1 Romania (Kashima)
Group A: Japan 1-0 South Africa (Tokyo)
Group D: Brazil 4-2 Germany (Yokohama)

Sunday, July 25
Group C: Egypt 0-1 Argentina (Sapporo)
Group A: France 4-3 South Africa (Saitama)
Group B: New Zealand 2-3 Honduras (Kashima)
Group D: Brazil 0-0 Ivory Coast (Yokohama)
Group C: Australia 0-1 Spain (Sapporo)
Group A: Japan 2-1 Mexico (Saitama)
Group B: Romania 0-4 South Korea (Kashima)
Group D: Saudi Arabia 2-3 Germany (Yokohama)

Wednesday, July 28
Group D: Germany 1-1 Ivory Coast (Rifu)
Group D: Saudi Arabia 1-3 Brazil (Saitama)
Group B: Romania 0-0 New Zealand (Sapporo)
Group B: South Korea 6-0 Honduras (Yokohama)
Group C: Australia 0-2 Egypt (Rifu)
Group C: Spain 1-1 Argentina (Saitama)
Group A: France 0-4 Japan (Yokohama)
Group A: South Africa 0-3 Mexico (Sapporo)