Mexico includes Giovani dos Santos on CONCACAF Cup squad

LA Galaxy's Giovani dos Santos, left off Mexico's squad for last week's friendlies, was included on Tuesday as El Tri named their provisional 32-man roster for the crucial CONCACAF Cup against the United States on Oct. 10.

Also returning to the squad is Malaga goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa while Tigres UANL defender Jose Arturo Rivas receives his first call-up.

Veteran defender Rafa Marquez, who was a key player in Mexico's two friendlies last week, was also included in the preliminary squad.

The United States also named 35 to its provisional roster for the match, which pits the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup champion United States against 2015 Gold Cup champion Mexico.

The match at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California, will determine CONCACAF's lone spot at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia.

After a roller-coaster summer which included a coaching upheaval, Mexico played Argentina, FIFA's No. 1 ranked team, to a 2-2 draw for the second of two friendlies in preparation for next month's crucial test.

The United States is undefeated in the past six games against Mexico, with three draws and three wins.

The complete Mexico squad, with positions provided by CONCACAF:

Goalkeepers: Guillermo Ochoa (Malaga); Moises Munoz (Club America); Alfredo Talavera (Toluca); Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey)

Defenders: Paul Aguilar (Club America); Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad); Rafael Marquez (Hellas Verona); Hector Moreno (PSV Eindhoven); Miguel Layun (Porto); Hector Herrera (Porto); Oswaldo Alanis (Guadalajara); Arturo Rivas (Tigres); Miguel Herrera (Pachuca); Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres)

Midfielders: Israel Jimenez (Tigres); Andres Guardado (PSV Eindhoven); Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon); Jesus Duenas (Tigres); Javier Aquino (Tigres); Jonathan Dos Santos (Villarreal); Luis Montes (Leon); Carlos Pena (Leon); Javier Guemez (Club America)

Forwards: Oribe Peralta (Club America); Raul Jimenez (Benfica); Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad); Carlos Esquivel (Toluca); Jesus Corona (Porto); Javier Hernandez (Bayer Leverkusen); Elias Hernandez (Leon); Jurgen Damm (Tigres); Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy)