Miguel Layun back for Mexico while Javier 'Chicharito' Hernandez left out

Villarreal's Miguel Layun has returned to the Mexico squad for the first time since the World Cup for friendlies against Argentina, although Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez, Hector Moreno, Andres Guardado and Hector Herrera were all again left out.

Interim coach Ricardo "Tuca" Ferretti has stressed that the priority following the 2018 World Cup is to hand the younger generation of Mexican players opportunities and has picked a similar group of players to the October friendlies, with only eight Europe-based players in the squad.

Mexico faces Argentina in Cordoba on Nov. 16 and then Mendoza on Nov. 20.

Reports in Mexico had suggested that some of the more experienced players like Hernandez had been left out since the World Cup due to an issue with the federation (FMF) over image rights, but FMF general secretary Guillermo Cantu said Tuesday that the striker's recent illness made the call-up difficult.

"It's a topic we've talked about internally," Cantu told reporters. "He was recovering from a virus that kept him off the field for five or six weeks, now he's finding form and those are things to take into consideration with the list."

Hernandez recently said he'd thought about retiring from the Mexican national team, stirring intrigue in Mexico as to why, although the West Ham forward didn't expand.

Goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa returns to the squad after missing the October dates, while Wolves striker Raul Jimenez is back for the third time since the World Cup.

In-form Porto winger Jesus "Tecatito" Corona also misses out, while Monterrey midfielder Jonathan Gonzalez isn't included after his recent injury.

Club America star Diego Lainez is not on the list and is currently with the Under-20s squad at the CONCACAF World Cup qualifying tournament.

The squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul/MEX), Hugo Gonzalez (Necaxa/MEX), Guillermo Ochoa (Standard Liege/BEL)

Defenders: Diego Reyes (Fenerbahce/TUR), Edson Alvarez (America/MEX), Nestor Araujo (Celta Vigo/ESP), Jesus Angulo (Santos Laguna/MEX), Jesus Gallardo (Monterrey/MEX), Gerardo Arteaga (Santos Laguna/MEX), Miguel Layun (Villarreal/SPA), Luis Rodriguez (Tigres/MEX)

Midfielders: Erick Gutierrez (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Victor Guzman (Pachuca/MEX), Marco Fabian (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER), Jesus Duenas (Tigres/MEX), Javier Guemez (Queretaro/MEX), Erick Aguirre (Pachuca/MEX), Javier Aquino (Tigres/MEX), Isaac Brizuela (Chivas/MEX), Roberto Alvarado (Cruz Azul/MEX)

Forwards: Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Raul Jimenez (Wolves/ENG), Angel Zaldivar (Chivas/MEX), Alan Pulido (Chivas/MEX), Henry Martin (America/MEX)