Chicharito in but Vela, Fabian out of Martino's first Mexico squad

West Ham United striker Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez is back with Mexico for the first time since last summer's World Cup, but there was no place for LAFC's Carlos Vela in Gerardo "Tata" Martino's squad for games against Chile (March 22) and Paraguay (March 26).

El Tri's top goal-scorer Hernandez is joined by captain Andres Guardado, Hector Moreno and Jesus "Tecatito" Corona in returning, while in-form Wolves striker Raul Jimenez also makes the list. Other Europe-based players to make the trip are: Guillermo Ochoa, Diego Lainez, Diego Reyes, Nestor Araujo, Erick Gutierrez and Hirving Lozano.

Porto captain Hector Herrera is closing in on receiving his Portuguese passport and misses out in order to stay in the European country.

The only MLS player to be included is LA Galaxy's Jonathan dos Santos, with Giovani dos Santos currently injured and without a club. Philadelphia Union's Marco Fabian didn't earn a spot, while Vela's exclusion comes off the back of him being named MLS Player of the Week following his three assists and goal in LAFC's 4-1 win over Portland Timbers.

The rest of the 17 names in the 29-player squad are based in Mexico. There are first call-ups to the full Mexico squad for Chivas forward Alexis Vega, Club America defender Jorge Sanchez and Monterrey midfielder Carlos Rodriguez.

Santos Laguna midfielder Jose Juan "Gallito" Vazquez returns after falling out of favor under previous coach Juan Carlos Osorio, while there was also a notable recall for Leon's Luis Montes.

Martino's first games in charge of will take place in San Diego and Santa Clara, Calif. The Mexico-based players fly Sunday night from Mexico City, while the Europe-based contingent will travel directly to San Diego.


Guillermo Ochoa (Standard Liege), Jonathan Orozco (Santos Laguna), Raul Gudino (Chivas)


Hector Moreno (Real Sociedad), Diego Reyes (Leganes), Nestor Araujo (Celta de Vigo),

Edson Alvarez (America), Jorge Sanchez (America), Jesus Gallardo (Monterrey), Miguel Layun (Monterrey), Cesar Montes (Monterrey), Carlos Salcedo (Tigres), Luis Rodriguez (Tigres)


Andres Guardado (Real Betis), Jonathan dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Erick Gutierrez (PSV Eindhoven), Carlos Rodriguez (Monterrey), Victor Guzman (Pachuca), Jose Juan Vazquez (Santos Laguna), Luis Montes (Leon)


Diego Lainez (Real Betis), Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven), Raul Jimenez (Wolves), Javier Hernandez (West Ham United), Jesus Corona (Porto), Alexis Vega (Chivas), Roberto Alvarado (Cruz Azul), Rodolfo Pizarro (Monterrey), Isaac Brizuela (Chivas)