Watford's Isaac Success gets Nigeria recall for two friendlies

Watford striker Isaac Success has been handed another opportunity to make his first appearance for Nigeria, as the Super Eagles prepare to play two friendly matches against Senegal and Burkina Faso in England this month.

Success, 21, was first called up last year by Nigeria for the opening 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier against Zambia, but withdrew from the squad with injury, along with Victor Moses.

The forward was subsequently left out of previous games, with some reports suggesting he was being "punished" for rejecting the call-up because he was asked to pay his own way down and wait for refund. Those reports were later denied by the NFF.

Success is not the only player being given a second chance by Nigeria. ADO Den Haag defender Tyronne Ebuehi, who also rejected a call-up around the same time claiming the "time was not right," has also been handed another opportunity.

The duo will join 21 other players for the friendly matches at The Hive, home ground of Barnet Football Club.

Outside of a second chance, Hannover's Noel Joel Sanrenre Bazee has been handed a first call up. The forward qualifies to represent Nigeria through his father.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Paul Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Uche Henry Agbo (Granada FC, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (FC Zeljeznicar, Bosnia Herzegovina); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Kingsley Madu (Zulte Waregem, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Noah Joel Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)