Onyekuru gets Nigeria call

Henry Onyekuru, one of Nigeria's top goal-scorers in Europe, was left off the national squad for the May 26 friendly against Corsica. Photo DH/Photonews via Getty Images

KAS Eupen forward Henry Onyekuru has been called up by Nigeria for friendly matches against Corsica and Togo.

The 19-year-old, the subject of heated interest from multiple English Premier League clubs, scored his 22nd goal of the season this weekend against Mouscron, making him the top scorer in Belgium.

He was surprisingly left out of Gernot Rohr's previous squads, including the team named for these games, but has now been called up as replacement for Kayode Olanrewaju who is being held back by club engagements.

On Thursday, the Nigeria Football Federation named a revised squad list while confirming that the Super Eagles will play two international friendly matches, against the Senior National Teams of Corsica and Togo respectively, before the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa in Uyo next month.

Chief Coach Salisu Yusuf will lead a contingent of goalkeepers trainer Alloy Agu, home -based professionals Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Alhassan Ibrahim, Stephen Odey and Sikiru Olatubosun and backroom staff to Paris on 22 May, from where they will travel to Corsica.

Nigeria, three-time African champions, will take on Corsica at the Stade Francois Coty in Ajaccio on 26 May. They will then travel to Paris for the game against the Hawks of Togo which has been scheduled for the Stade Municipal de Saint Leu La Foret, Paris on 1 June.

Both games will serve as preparation for the Super Eagles opening 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo.


Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC Ifeanyi Ubah); Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Uche Agbo (CF Granada, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Stephen Odey (MFM FC); Henry Onyekuru (KAS Eupen, Belgium); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Noah Serenren-Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany); Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC)


Ola Aina (Chelsea FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)