FC Porto seal Portuguese Liga title after Benfica draw with Sporting

LISBON, Portugal -- FC Porto won their first Portuguese Liga title in five seasons after a goalless draw between rivals Benfica and Sporting Lisbon left both out of contention on Saturday.

Porto claimed their 28th league title with a four-point lead over Benfica and Sporting with one round remaining.

Benfica won the competition the previous four seasons and are holders of a record 36 titles.

Benfica and Sporting are disputing second place with only the top two finishers in Portugal going to the Champions League next season.