Florentino Perez to continue as Real Madrid president until 2021

Florentino Perez will remain as Real Madrid president for another four years after no other candidates stepped forward to run against him.

Perez called an election on June 8, with June 18 the deadline for prospective opposition candidates to announce they would compete for the presidency.

Not one club member decided to launch a campaign during that 10-day period, though, and the electoral board confirmed on Monday that Perez has subsequently been elected for a fifth term.

"As no other candidature was put forward to the board it is proclaimed that Mr Florentino Perez Rodriguez is president of Real Madrid," a brief statement confirmed.

The electoral board also ratified that Fernando Fernandez Tapias, Eduardo Fernandez de Blas and Pedro Lopez Jimenez will continue as Perez's vice presidents.

Immediately on Perez's plate is the current dissatisfaction of superstar forward Cristiano Ronaldo, who sources last week said was "outraged'' by what he feels is unfair treatment by Spanish tax authorities and is looking to leave the Bernabeu.

However, Perez did not reference the club's all-time leading scorer during the address he gave to mark his re-election on Monday evening.

In quotes published on Marca's website, Perez said: "We have built a legendary team with the best players from Spain and the world, but also with many players from our youth academy.

"This is the model that will continue to define Real Madrid. When united, this club is practically indestructible.''

Perez was first elected in 2000 on the promise of restructuring the club's finances and bringing in Luis Figo from Barcelona, which kickstarted the Galactico era.

Zinedine Zidane, Ronaldo and David Beckham followed Figo to the Santiago Bernabeu and Perez was re-elected in 2004 with 94.2 percent of the votes.

However, despite signing some of the world's finest players, results on the pitch weren't satisfactory and -- despite massive increases in marketing revenue -- Perez resigned in 2006, conceding that the club would benefit from a new direction.

Perez was not away for long, though, and returned in 2009, immediately making his mark on the club again by signing Kaka and pushing through the deal for Cristiano Ronaldo agreed by previous president Ramon Calderon.

Elected again in 2013, the last four years have been the most successful of the Perez era, with Madrid winning three Champions Leagues and one La Liga title in that time.

That success meant it was unlikely anyone would have been able to better him in an election and he will now remain in his position until 2021.

Press Association contributed to this report.