Real Madrid's Marcelo admits handball vs. Bayern Munich: 'The ball hit my hand'

Real Madrid left-back Marcelo admits he handled Joshua Kimmich's cross just before half-time of Los Blancos' Champions League final-clinching 2-2 draw against Bayern Munich on Tuesday.

Marcelo set up his side's equaliser after Bayern scored just three minutes into the thrilling match at the Bernabeu. But the Brazil international heard shouts for handball moments before the break when Kimmich'a cross appeared to touch his tucked-in hand while he was inside of his own box.

Turkish referee Cuneyt Cakir saw no infraction and play was allowed to continue.

Speaking to reporters after the match, Marcelo confirmed the contact, saying: "The ball hit my hand. You already know I don't speak to the referee. He's already erred against us.

"Now I can't come here and talk about the referee again.

"It's what happened. It's difficult because there's a lot in front of you, but if I say that it didn't touch my hand, I'd be a liar."

The result put Real on pace to win their fourth Champions League title in the past five years, and third in a row, despite a disappointing domestic campaign.

The Bernabeu side have reached (16) and won (12) more Champions League finals than any other club and Marcelo highlighted his side's approach.

"We go game to game, season to season," he said. "We don't think a lot about the future. We know the start [of the season] was tough, now we have to enjoy and dispute this final."

He added: "There are four finals in a very short time, I believe we are making history. To reach four finals in five years is difficult and here we are."