Red Bulls decline options on 9 players including Shaun Wright-Phillips

Shaun Wright-Phillips is among the nine players that MLS club New York Red Bulls have decided against exercising their team options on for the 2016 season.

The New York-based club have chosen not to take up options on goalkeeper Kyle Reynish, defenders Roy Miller, Damien Perrinelle and Anthony Wallace, midfielders Wright-Phillips, Leo Stolz and Marius Obekop, and forwards Manolo Sanchez and Dane Richards.

However, the club confirmed they are still in discussions with Perrinelle, Wright-Phillips and Reynish about the trio playing on next season.

Shaun Wright Phillips' younger brother Bradley -- who has been linked with a January loan move to Premier League side Bournemouth -- has been retained by the club for the 2016 campaign.

Red Bulls Sporting Director Ali Curtis told the club's official website: "We want to thank each player for their service to the club and wish them nothing but the best moving forward.

"Despite options not being exercised for Shaun, Kyle and Damien, the club is in discussions with each player and is looking to bring those players back in 2016."

Despite being eliminated from the MLS playoffs on Sunday in the second leg of the Eastern Conference championship, the Red Bulls enjoyed a prosperous 2015 season.

The team collected the most wins (18), home wins (12) and points (60) in club history, and earned the club's second Supporters' Shield in three seasons.

Red Bulls players under contract:

Goalkeepers (3): Santiago Castano, Ryan Meara, Luis Robles.
Defenders (8): Chris Duvall, Connor Lade, Kemar Lawrence, Shawn McLaws, Matt Miazga, Karl Ouimette, Sal Zizzo, Ronald Zubar.
Midfielders (7): Tyler Adams, Sean Davis, Felipe, Sacha Kljestan, Dax McCarty, Lloyd Sam, Gonzalo Veron.
Forwards (3): Anatole Abang, Mike Grella, Bradley Wright-Phillips.