FIFPro XI shortlist: Ronaldo's Real Madrid outnumber Messi's Barcelona

Real Madrid dominate the FIFPro World XI shortlist with Cristiano Ronaldo facing a battle against Barcelona trio Lionel Messi, Neymar and Luis Suarez as well as Manchester United captain Wayne Rooney for a place in attack.

FIFPro, the worldwide players' union, has announced a 55-man shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI, with nearly 25,000 players from around the world voting in this year's ballot for their preferred players in a 4-3-3 formation.

Madrid lead the way with 12 representatives on the shortlist, closely followed by Bundesliga champions Bayern (11) and Treble winners Barcelona (10), who thrashed Los Blancos 4-0 in last Saturday's Clasico at the Bernabeu.

Rafa Benitez's "BBC" attack of Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema and Ronaldo are competing for the three striking positions with Barca's record-breaking triumvirate of Messi, Neymar and Suarez, though Bayern have four attackers on the shortlist in the shape of Robert Lewandowski, Thomas Muller, Arjen Robben and Douglas Costa.

Last season's Champions League finalists Juventus have three current players nominated in Gianluigi Buffon, Giorgio Chiellini and Paul Pogba, with former stars Artro Vidal (Bayern), Carlos Tevez (Boca Juniors) and Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC) also up for their respective positions.

There are 10 representatives from the Premier League, with Manchester City leading the way with four nominations. Champions Chelsea are represented by John Terry, Branislav Ivanovic and Eden Hazard.

Man United skipper Rooney and David De Gea -- who almost joined Madrid this summer -- also make the cut, while Alexis Sanchez is the single Arsenal player to make the grade.

French champions Paris Saint-Germain have four nominations along with Man City, with Zlatan Ibrahimovic, David Luiz, Marco Verratti and captain Thiago Silva on the list.

The FIFPro World XI will be announced on Jan. 11, 2016 at the Ballon d'Or ceremony in Zurich.

FIFPro represents more than 65,000 male and female footballers across the globe. The organisation asks players to vote for the best goalkeeper, four best defenders, three best midfielders and three best attackers from all players worldwide.

There is only a distinction between the lines of formation, not the positions themselves, and there is no pre-approved shortlist of players to vote from.

However, players chosen must have made at least 15 official appearances during the calendar year to be eligible for the World XI.

All ballots that have been returned will be counted in December, with FIFPro staff then building the new World XI.

Full FIFPro World XI shortlist:

Goalkeepers (5): Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/Porto), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid) and Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern).

Defenders (20): David Alaba (Austria/Bayern), Jordi Alba (Spain/Barca), Jerome Boateng (Germany/Bayern), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juve), Dani Alves (Brazil/Barca), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia/Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Manchester City), Philipp Lahm (Germany/Bayern), Marcelo (Brazil/Real), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/Barca), Pepe (Portugal/Real), Gerard Piqué (Spain/Barca), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real), John Terry (England/Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Brazil/PSG) and Raphael Varane (France/Real).

Midfielders (15): Thiago Alcantara (Spain/Bayern), Xabi Alonso (Spain/Bayern), Sergio Busquets (Spain/Barca), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barca), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/New York City FC), Paul Pogba (France/Juve), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/Barca), James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real), David Silva (Spain/Man City), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast/Man City), Marco Verratti (Italy/PSG) and Arturo Vidal (Chile/Bayern).

Strikers (15): Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Man City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real), Karim Benzema (France/Real), Douglas Costa (Brazil/Bayern), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/PSG), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern), Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barca), Thomas Muller (Germany/Bayern), Neymar (Brazil/Barca), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/Bayern), Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/Barca) and Carlos Tevez (Argentina/Boca Juniors).