Argentina name 18-man Olympic squad amid participation doubts

Manuel Lanzini, Luciano Vietto and Angel Correa were the headliners as Argentina announced their squad for this summer's Olympic tournament, while Paulo Dybala, Matias Kranevitter and Mauro Icardi were left out.

The announcement comes during an unstable time for the Argentina Football Association which, as of earlier this week, was unsure if they would field a team at the games in Rio de Janeiro.

Argentine football has been thrown into further chaos this week by the resignation of coach Gerardo Martino, which followed captain Lionel Messi announcing that he planned to retire from international football amid continuing issues at the Argentine FA.

In Martino's stead, Julio Olarticoechea has assumed the reins of the Olympic team and named his 18-man list, which includes just one overage player, Independiente's Victor Cuesta, on Wednesday.

West Ham's Lanzini, and the Atletico Madrid duo of Vietto and Correa bring the star power but other names such as Juventus' Dybala, Atleti's Kranevitter and Inter Milan's Icardi were not called, though Dybala had previously not been given permission from his club.

Here's the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Geronimo Rulli (Real Sociedad), Axel Werner (Atletico de Rafaela)

Defenders: Victor Cuesta (Independiente), Lautaro Gianetti (Velez Sarsfield), Jose Luis Gomez (Lanus), Lisandro Magallan (Boca Juniors), Alexis Soto (Banfield), Leandro Vega (River Plate)

Midfielders: Santiago Ascacibar (Estudiantes), Giovani Lo Celso (Rosario Central), Joaquin Correa (Sampdoria), Mauricio Martinez (Union de Santa Fe), Lucas Romero (Cruzeiro)

Forwards: Angel Correa (Atletico Madrid), Cristian Espinoza (Huracan), Manuel Lanzini (West Ham), Giovani Simeone (River Plate), Luciano Vietto (Atletico Madrid)