MLS MVP finalists: Sacha Kljestan, Bradley Wright-Phillips, David Villa

Video via MLS: Giovinco embarrasses defenders (1:50)

Check out the best flicks, megs, tricks and skill plays from the month of October. (1:50)

The New York Red Bulls' Sacha Kljestan and Bradley Wright-Phillips are both finalists for Major League Soccer's MVP award, along with New York City FC's David Villa.

Wright-Phillips led MLS with 24 goals this season, one more than Villa. Kljestan became only the second player in league history to have 20 assists.

The Red Bulls are the fourth pair of teammates to be MVP finalists in the same year but the first since 2001, when the Miami Fusion's Alex Pineda Chacon won over Diego Serna.

Toronto FC's Sebastian Giovinco, last year's winner, was a notable snub on the 2016 short list after scoring 17 goals with 15 assists, leading the league with a combined total of 32.

Among other award finalists announced on Tuesday, Tim Howard is on the list for Goalkeeper of the Year despite only joining the Colorado Rapids in July.

Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player (announced Dec. 6)
Sacha Kljestan, New York Red Bulls
David Villa, New York City FC
Bradley Wright-Phillips, New York Red Bulls

Defender of the Year (Nov. 11)
Matt Hedges, FC Dallas
Axel Sjoberg, Colorado Rapids
Jelle Van Damme, LA Galaxy

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year (Nov. 17)
Andre Blake, Philadelphia Union
Tim Howard, Colorado Rapids
Luis Robles, New York Red Bulls

Newcomer of the Year (previous professional experience - Nov. 21)
Ola Kamara, Columbus Crew SC
Nico Lodeiro, Seattle Sounders
Jelle Van Damme, LA Galaxy

AT&T Rookie of the Year (Nov. 10)
Jack Harrison, New York City FC
Jordan Morris, Seattle Sounders
Keegan Rosenberry, Philadelphia Union

Coach of the Year (Nov. 29)
Pablo Mastroeni, Colorado Rapids
Oscar Pareja, FC Dallas
Patrick Vieira, New York City FC

Comeback Player of the Year (Nov. 16)
Frank Lampard, New York City FC
Kevin Molino, Orlando City
Chris Pontius, Philadelphia Union