Golden Boy 2019: Fati, Felix, Haaland, Sancho among final 20 nominees

Atletico Madrid forward Joao Felix, who has been labelled the "new Cristiano Ronaldo" could achieve something his Portugal teammate failed as he was named as one of the final 20 nominees for the 2019 Golden Boy award.

The honour, presented by Italian newspaper Tuttosport, is given to the best player aged 21 and under. Juventus defender Matthijs de Ligt is the holder but, as with Paris Saint-Germain forward Kylian Mbappe the year before, the champion is not allowed to retain his title.

- Euro 2020 qualifying: All you need to know

Felix joined Atletico from Benfica in the summer for €126 million and the 19-year-old is the favourite to win the award.

However, Felix will face serious competition Borussia Dortmund winger Jadon Sancho, as well as Barcelona's 16-year-old sensation Ansu Fati.

FC Salzburg forward Erling Haaland is also in contention, along with Bayer Leverkusen's highly rated midfielder Kai Havertz. Bayern Munich's Canada international Alphonso Davies is also among the nominees.

The award first started in 2003 with Rafael van der Vaart, then of Ajax, the first recipient. Manchester United's Wayne Rooney won it a year later, before Lionel Messi claimed the award in 2005.

Other notable winners include Sergio Aguero, Mario Balotelli, Paul Pogba and Raheem Sterling.

Golden Boy award nominees

Matthijs de Ligt, Juventus

Alphonso Davies, Bayern Munich

Gianluigi Donnarumma, Milan

Ansu Fati, Barcelona

Phil Foden, Manchester City

Matteo Guendouzi, Arsenal

Ering Haaland, FC Salzburg

Kai Havertz, Bayer Leverkusen,

Joao Felix, Atletico Madrid

Dejan Joveljic, Eintracht Frankfurt

Moise Kean, Everton

Kang-in Lee, Valencia

Andrij Lunin, Valladolid

Donyell Malen, PSV Eindhoven

Mason Mount, Chelsea

Rodrygo, Real Madrid

Jadon Sancho, Borussia Dortmund

Ferran Torres, Valencia

Vinicius Junior, Real Madrid

Nicolo Zaniolo, Roma