Barcelona's Alexia Putellas wins The Best FIFA Women's player award

Barcelona and Spain midfielder Alexia Putellas won The Best FIFA Women's Player award for 2022, marking her third individual award in the last six months.

She also won the Ballon d'Or Feminin in November and was named UEFA Women's Player of the Year in August.

- Salah's snub, Ronaldo's special award: What you missed at awards
- ESPN+ guide: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, FA Cup, more (U.S.)
- Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN+ (U.S. only)

Chelsea manager Emma Hayes was awarded The Best FIFA Women's Coach award after a year in which she won the domestic Treble and made it to the Champions League final.

Canada and Portland Thorns' Christine Sinclair was awarded The Best FIFA Special award while Chile and Lyon's Christiane Endler was awarded The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper award.

"This belongs to everyone," Putellas said after receiving the award. "I hope we can continue with the same or even more motivations this year and we can be very successful again.

"This is the work of many years. 2021 was perfect. We only hope to finish this year the same way."

Putellas fought off competition from teammate Jennifer Hermoso and Chelsea's Sam Kerr for Monday's award -- the same two finalists for the Ballon d'Or Feminin.

The 27-year-old helped Barca to a Treble-winning 2020-21 season in which they won the Primera Divsion, the Copa de la Reina and took home the Champions League trophy for the first time in their history.

Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski won the men's award.

Barca announced on Monday that their women's Champions League quarterfinal against Clasico rivals Real Madrid in March has sold out, with over 80,000 tickets sold in three days.

The game was moved to Camp Nou from the 6,000-seat Estadi Johan Cruyff at the club's training ground where the women normally play their games.

FIFA Women's World XI

Christiane Endler - Lyon, Chile

Lucy Bronze - Manchester City, England

Wendie Renard - Lyon, France

Millie Bright - Chelsea, England

Magdalena Eriksson - Chelsea, Sweden

Estefania Banini - Atletico Madrid, Argentina

Carli Lloyd - NJ/NY Gotham, United States

Barbara Bonansea - Juventus, Italy

Vivianne Miedema - Arsenal, Netherlands

Marta - Orlando Pride, Brazil

Alex Morgan - San Diego Wave, United States