Real Madrid complete Champions League group stage draw seeds

Real Madrid's title success has completed the lineup of seeds for next season's Champions League group stage draw.

Zinedine Zidane's side beat Malaga 2-0 to edge out Barcelona in La Liga, and they will be seeded along with the champions of the major leagues across Europe.

Bayern Munich, Juventus, Benfica, Chelsea, Monaco, Spartak Moscow are in the top pot by right, while Ukraine champions Shakhtar Donetsk are promoted to pot 1 as the position held for the holders -- Juve or Real Madrid -- will not be used.

Pots 2 to 4 are based on UEFA club coefficient over the last five years. There will be a strong collection of teams in the second pot, with Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Paris Saint-Germain, Borussia Dortmund, Man City and Porto assured of their places.

They will be joined in pot 2 by Sevilla and Manchester United if they respectively come through the qualifying round and win the Europa League. Napoli and Tottenham Hotspur respectively could benefit if they lose and move up from Pot 3.

At present Roma face being in Pot 4, though will move up to Pot 3 if a seeded team loses in the playoffs.


Seeded (confirmed): Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, Juventus, Benfica, Chelsea, Shakhtar Donetsk, Monaco, Spartak Moscow

Pot 2 (provisional): Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Paris Saint-Germain, Borussia Dortmund, Sevilla*, Man City, FC Porto, Manchester United**

Pot 3 (provisional): Napoli*, Tottenham, FC Basel, Dynamo Kiev*, Ajax*, Olympiakos*, Anderlecht, Liverpool*

Pot 4: All other qualifying clubs, which could include Roma, RB Leipzig, Celtic*, Nice* and Feyenoord

* denotes must come through qualifying rounds (Ajax would not have to qualify as Europa League holders)
** denotes must win Europa League