Pots and seedings confirmed for Champions League group stage draw

The 32 teams in this season's Champions League group stage can now begin to think about their dream draw after the final seeding pots were confirmed following Wednesday's final qualifying ties.

The champions of Europe's top-eight ranked leagues are automatically seeded in pot 1, with the remaining three pots allocated based upon UEFA's coefficient system.

Sevilla secured their place in pot 2 after coming through the playoffs, which meant Napoli had to be content with a place in pot 3 after they too came through the qualifiers.

Liverpool take a place in pot 3 after coming through their tie against Hoffenheim.

There are teams in pot 4 that some might hope to avoid, as it features Scottish champions Celtic, Dutch title holders Feyenoord, German debutants RB Leipzig and Portuguese giants Sporting Lisbon.

The draw for the group stage begins at 5 p.m. BST, midday ET on Thursday, Aug. 24.

Seeded: Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, Juventus, Benfica, Chelsea, Shakhtar Donetsk, Monaco, Spartak Moscow

Pot 2: Barcelona, Atletico, Paris Saint-Germain, Borussia Dortmund, Sevilla, Man City, FC Porto, Man United

Pot 3: Napoli, Tottenham, FC Basel, Olympiakos, Anderlecht, Liverpool, Roma, Besiktas

Pot 4: Celtic, CSKA Moscow, Sporting CP, APOEL Nicosia, Feyenoord, NK Maribor, FK Qarabag, RB Leipzig

The first group games will be played on Sep. 12-13.