UEFA Nations League draw: Portugal grouped with France, Croatia

Defending champions Portugal have been drawn with 2018 World Cup winners France and runners-up Croatia for the 2020-2021 UEFA Nations League after a live ceremony in Amsterdam.

Joining them in the difficult League A Group 3 will be Sweden. Also in the top league will be Poland, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Italy and Netherlands in Group 1. Iceland, Denmark, Belgium and England in Group 2. And Germany, Ukraine, Spain and Switzerland in Group 4.

League B will feature Austria, Norway, Northern Ireland and Romania in Group 1. Group 2 will house Czech Republic, Scotland, Slovakia and Israel. Russia, Serbia, Turkey and Hungary will make up Group 3. And Wales, Finland, Republic of Ireland and Bulgaria will round out Group 4.

League C consists of Montenegro, Cyprus, Luxembourg and Azerbaijan in Group 1. Georgia, North Macedonia, Estonia and Armenia make up Group 2. Greece, Kosovo, Slovenia and Moldova are in Group 3. And Group 4 will host Albania, Belarus, Lithuania and Kazakhstan.

In League D will be Faroe Islands, Latvia, Andorra and Malta in Group 1. And Liechtenstein, San Marino and Gibraltar in Group 2.

The first matchday for the tournament will take place on Sept. 3, 2020, with the final scheduled for June 6, 2021.

Portugal, who are also reigning European champs, beat Netherlands in the inaugural final in June of 2019.