CONCACAF Nations League: All you need to know

The first edition of the CONCACAF Nations League began in September 2019. Here's a guide for all you need to know about the competition.

What is the CONCACAF Nations League?

It is a competition between the 41 member nations of CONCACAF, the regional governing body of North America, Central America and the Caribbean. It was created to mirror the idea of the UEFA Nations League, aiming to provide more meaningful, competitive fixtures when international friendlies would usually be played.

It was also noted that some minor nations were playing fewer than 10 games in a four-year period, and this gives them the chance of regular competitive football.

So this means there are no more international friendlies?

CONCACAF nations will still play some international friendlies. Major countries in League A had two spare dates in September to November 2019, and will have the March international dates.

Does every CONCACAF nation take part?

Yes. There was an initial qualifying phase, from September 2018 to March 2019, between the 34 lowest-ranked nations in CONCACAF. Each team played four matches, creating an overall ranking from 1 to 34.

The top six teams qualified for CONCACAF Nations League A, 7-22 for League B, and 23-34 for League C.

Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago and United States progressed direct to the final group stage in League A as participants of the 2018 World Cup qualifying Hexagonal.

Guatemala did not take part in qualifying as it was suspended by FIFA at the time of the draw, meaning it had to be drawn into League C despite being a stronger-ranked nation.

What is the format?

The 40 nations that take part in the CONCACAF Nations League proper are split into three "Leagues." The strongest nations are in League A, and the weakest in League C.

League A: 12 teams, into four groups of three

League B: 16 teams, into four groups of four

League C: 13 teams, one group of four and three of three

Teams within each group will play each other home and away.

What were the CONCACAF Nations League groups?


Group A: USA, Canada, Cuba
Group B: Mexico, Panama, Bermuda
Group C: Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago, Martinique
Group D: Costa Rica, Haiti, Curacao


Group A: French Guiana, St. Kitts & Nevis, Belize, Grenada
Group B: El Salvador, Dominican Republic, St. Lucia, Montserrat
Group C: Jamaica, Guyana, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba
Group D: Nicaragua, Suriname, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Dominica


Group A: Barbados, Cayman Islands, Saint Martin, U.S. Virgin Islands
Group B: Bonaire, Bahamas, British Virgin Islands
Group C: Guatemala, Puerto Rico, Anguilla
Group D: Guadeloupe, Turks & Caicos Islands, Sint Maarten

Will there actually be CONCACAF Nations League champions?

Yes. The four group winners from League A will playoff in knockout format (semifinals, third-place match and final). This was due to be in June 2020 until the coronavirus stopped football with United States hosting. The finals will now be held in June 2021.

Who has qualified for the finals?

The United States will play Honduras and it's Mexico vs. Costa Rica in the semifinals, both played in the altitude of Denver's Empower Field at Mile High on June 3, 2021.

The final and third place matches will take place three days later at the same stadium.

Is there promotion and relegation?

Yes, like in the UEFA Nations League the teams which finish bottom of the groups in Leagues A and B will be relegated. The teams that win their groups in Leagues B and C will be promoted.

Does the CONCACAF Nations League affect the Gold Cup?

Yes, the 2019 CONCACAF Nations League final tournament is also qualifying for the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Automatic qualifying for the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup goes to:

League A: The top two teams from each group - Canada, Curacao, Costa Rica, Honduras, Martinique, Mexico, Panama, United States
League B: The winner of each group - El Salvador, Grenada, Jamaica, Suriname

However, there will be a playoff path to decide the final four qualifiers.

This playoffs will feature:
League A: The four third-place nations - Bermuda, Cuba, Haiti, Trinidad & Tobago
League B: The four second-place finishers - French Guiana, Guyana, Montserrat, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
League C: The four group winners - Bahamas, Barbados, Guadeloupe, Guatemala

These were due to be played in March and June 2020 until the coronavirus stopped soccer. There will now be a pre-qualifying tournament directly before the Gold Cup to decide the final four nations from the Nations League.

When is the next edition of the CONCACAF Nations League?

It is scheduled to begin in June 2022 and be played through to September, with the finals in March 2023.