United States announces preliminary 35-man Gold Cup squad

MIAMI BEACH, Fla. -- Houston Dynamo defender DaMarcus Beasley, who announced his retirement from the U.S. national team in December, was among 35 players on the Americans' preliminary squad for next year's CONCACAF Gold Cup that was announced Wednesday.

Beasley, a left back who turned 33 last month, last year became the first American to play in four World Cups.

Los Angeles Galaxy forward Alan Gordon, who also is 33, was another surprise inclusion on the squad. Gordon's only appearance for the national team was in October 2012, when he assisted on Eddie Johnson's tiebreaking 90th-minute goal in a World Cup qualifier at Antigua and Barbuda. Gordon was on the 2013 Gold Cup squad but did not appear in a match.

Toronto forward Jozy Altidore, sidelined since May 16 by a strained right hamstring, also was picked, but New England midfielder Jermaine Jones, who injured his left groin May 31, was not.

Stoke defender Geoff Cameron also was omitted along with midfielder Danny Williams, whose 88th-minute goal tied the score in Friday's 4-3 exhibition win at the Netherlands.

U.S. coach Jurgen Klinsmann did not include 18-year-old Arsenal midfielder Gedion Zelalem, who is with the American team at the Under-20 World Cup after receiving approval from FIFA to play for the U.S.

Each team must select 23 players from the 35 for its opening tournament squad, which will be announced June 23. Each nation that advances may replace six players after the group stage, with the replacements coming from among the original 35.

After an exhibition against Guatemala on July 3 at Nashville, Tennessee, the Americans open their title defense against Honduras four days later at Frisco, Texas. They play Haiti on July 10 at Foxborough, Massachusetts, and finish the first round three days later against Panama at Kansas City, Kansas.

If the Americans win the final July 26 at Philadelphia, they would earn a berth at the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia. If another nation wins the Gold Cup, it would meet the U.S. in a playoff for the Confederations Cup berth.

Here is the complete squad list:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club León)

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club América), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Greg Garza (Club Tijuana), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Michael Orozco (Pubela), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers), Brek Shea (Orlando City), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Aron Jóhannsson (AZ), Jordan Morris (Stanford University), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)