Christian Pulisic included in United States' 40-man Copa America roster

The United States announced its preliminary 40-man roster for the Copa America Centenario, which will take place from June 3-26 in venues across the U.S.

Jurgen Klinsmann named Borussia Dortmund midfielder Christian Pulisic to the roster, with the 17-year-old getting first-team minutes for Thomas Tuchel's team and impressing in the Bundesliga.

Two other youngsters on the roster are Seattle Sounders rookie Jordan Morris and Union Berlin striker Bobby Wood.

One surprise inclusion is Nottingham Forest defender Eric Lichaj, who was last called up in 2013 for friendlies against Austria and Scotland. His inclusion may have come at the expense of Orlando City's Brek Shea, who'd had a strong start to the season and might have helped Klinsmann's team in one of its weakest positions at outside back.

Klinsmann must trim the list to his final 23 by May 20. The U.S. can make changes because of injuries up until a day before its opener on June 3.

The U.S. starts training May 16 in Miami and has exhibitions May 22 at Puerto Rico, against Ecuador four days later at Frisco, Texas, and versus Bolivia on May 28 at Kansas City, Kansas.

The American open the tournament against Colombia at Santa Clara, California, play Costa Rica four days later at Chicago and complete the first round June 11 against Paraguay at Philadelphia.

Full 40-man preliminary roster:

Goalkeepers: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Ethan Horvath (Molde), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Ventura Alvarado (Club America), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Edgar Castillo (Monterrey), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest), Matt Miazga (Chelsea FC), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (FC Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Perry Kitchen (Heart of Midlothian), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Danny Williams (Reading FC), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Ethan Finlay (Columbus Crew), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)