Terrence Boyd, Juan Agudelo rejoin U.S. squad as nine players depart

Six starters from the United States' 2-0 win at Cuba have been released to return to their clubs and will miss Tuesday's friendly against New Zealand in Washington, D.C.

Defenders John Brooks, Geoff Cameron and Fabian Johnson were let go along with midfielder Christian Pulisic, forward Bobby Wood and goalkeeper Ethan Horvath, U.S. Soccer said on Saturday.

They were among nine players to leave the team, a group that also included defender Timmy Chandler and forwards Jordan Morris and Chris Wondolowski.

Seven players were added, leaving the U.S. with a 20-man roster: goalkeeper Bill Hamid; defenders Kellyn Acosta, Matt Besler, Michael Orozco and Tim Parker; and forwards Juan Agudelo and Terrence Boyd.

Boyd has not been with the national team since he was on the 30-man preliminary squad for the 2014 World Cup. The 25-year-old tore his right ACL in December 2014.

Agudelo has not been with the national team since June 2015.

Defender Steve Birnbaum remained after needing eight stiches to close a facial cut caused by a kick from Cuba's Duxney Espinosa.

The match against New Zealand is the last for the U.S. before it opens the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2018 World Cup against Mexico on Nov. 11 at Columbus, Ohio.

The revised squad:

Goalkeepers: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), William Yarbrough (Leon)

Defenders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Michael Orozco (Tijuana), Tim Parker (Vancouver Whitecaps), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle)

Midfielders: Paul Arriola (Tijuana), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Lynden Gooch (Sunderland), Perry Kitchen (Heart of Midlothian), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Danny Williams (Reading)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Terrence Boyd (Leipzig), Julian Green (Bayern Munich)