Wynalda, Solo, Caligiuri make list of eight finalists for U.S. Soccer president

The United States Soccer Federation confirmed its list of eight finalists for the upcoming presidential election to replace Sunil Gulati.

Former men's national team players Paul Caligiuri, Eric Wynalda and Kyle Martino; U.S. women's goalkeeper Hope Solo; Soccer United Marketing president Kathy Carter; USSF vice president Carlos Cordeiro; Boston lawyer Steve Gans and New York lawyer Michael Winograd made the cut, while Paul LaPointe, Northeast Conference manager of the United Premier Soccer League, was not included in the list of finalists.

USSF announced last Tuesday that it had received the required three letters of nomination for eight candidates -- except for LaPointe -- in its presidential election by its Dec. 13 deadline, but did not say who they were as the federation conducted background checks on the candidates to ascertain that there were "no conviction or no contest plea to a felony or crime of moral turpitude."

Gulati, the USSF president since 2006, decided after the Americans failed to qualify for the World Cup that he would not seek a fourth four-year term.

The election will take place during U.S. Soccer's National Council Meeting on Feb. 10 in Orlando.