Christian Pulisic rested; DeAndre Yedlin returns among USMNT squad changes

With Christian Pulisic among seven players to drop out, U.S. caretaker manager Dave Sarachan has made 10 additions to what is now a 25-man roster, ahead of friendlies against Republic on Ireland on June 2 (3 p.m. ET, ESPN2) and France a week later (3 p.m. ET, ESPN).

The added players consist of goalkeepers Zack Steffen and William Yarbrough, defenders Shaq Moore, Tim Parker and DeAndre Yedlin, midfielders Tyler Adams, Luca de la Torre, Kenny Saief and Wil Trapp and forward Bobby Wood.

Meanwhile, among those released are five players -- Pulisic, Alex Bono, Lynden Gooch, Matt Olosunde and Walker Zimmerman -- who featured in Monday's 3-0 win vs. Bolivia, as well as Alejandro Guido and Ethan Horvath,.

The moves had been expected, with Sarachan having to juggle the club demands of MLS players along with the need for some European-based performers to get time off following long seasons. The changes have also added some experience to the U.S. squad and resulted in its average age creeping up from 22 years, 286 days to 23 years, 102 days.

"We're excited about the chance to add some of the veterans from Europe as well as the younger guys in MLS who have been part of our group since November," Sarachan said. "The games against Ireland and France will bring increasingly more difficult challenges, so we felt it was important to bring in some players that offer a bit more experience. These matches will provide another big development opportunity for these players who are growing in their international careers."

Steffen will attempt to move up the goalkeeping depth chart after making his first two international appearances earlier this year. Yarbrough, meanwhile, has been called in for the first time since November 2016.

Yedlin is the most-capped player on the roster, having made 50 appearances, but plenty of eyes will be on Adams as well, given that he has been linked with a move to Red Bull Leipzig. Saief returns having finalizing a move to Anderlecht, where he spent the second half of the season on loan.

U.S. roster to face Republic of Ireland and France

Goalkeepers: Bill Hamid (Midtjylland), Zack Steffen (Columbus Crew SC), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

Defenders: Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest), Matt Miazga (Chelsea), Shaq Moore (Levante), Erik Palmer-Brown (Manchester City), Tim Parker (New York Red Bulls), Antonee Robinson (Bolton Wanderers), Jorge Villafana (Santos Laguna), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle United)

Midfielders: Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls), Joe Corona (Club America), Luca de la Torre (Fulham), Julian Green (Stuttgart), Weston McKennie (Schalke), Keaton Parks (Benfica), Rubio Rubin (Club Tijuana), Kenny Saief (Anderlecht), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Tim Weah (Paris Saint-Germain)

Forwards: Andrija Novakovich (Telstar), Josh Sargent (Werder Bremen), Bobby Wood (Hamburg)