Federer ends Nadal's win streak

Rafael Nadal's record clay-court win streak finally ended at the Hamburg Masters final at 81. Nadal fell to the world No. 1, Roger Federer, in three sets, ending a streak which began over two years ago. Ironically, it was Federer whom Nadal defeated the most during this streak (five times.)

Igor Andreev had been the last player to beat Rafael Nadal in a clay-court match until Federer. On April 8, 2005, Andreev beat Nadal, 7-5, 6-2 in a quarterfinal match in Valencia, Spain. Andreev went on to win that tournament.

Nadal defeated a total of 52 different players during his record-long streak. Listed is each of Nadal's 81 wins -- from Gael Monfils (first) to Lleyton Hewitt (last).

Masters Series Monte-Carlo: April 11-17, 2005

Barcelona: April 18-24, 2005

Masters Series Rome: May 2-8, 2005

French Open: May 23-June 5, 2005

Bastad, Sweden: July 4-10, 2005

Stuttgart, Germany: July 18-24, 2005

Davis Cup vs. Italy: Sept. 23-25, 2005

Masters Series Monte-Carlo: April 17-23, 2006

Barcelona, Spain: April 24-30, 2006

Masters Series Rome: May 8-14, 2006

French Open: May 28-June 11, 2006

Davis Cup vs. Italy: Sept. 22-24, 2006

Masters Series Monte-Carlo: April 15-22, 2007

Barcelona Open: April 23-29, 2007

Masters Rome: May 7-May 13, 2007

Masters Hamburg: May 14-20, 2007

Greg Garber is a senior writer for ESPN.com.