Federer, Henin named 2007 ITF World Champions

LONDON -- Roger Federer and Justine Henin are the ITF World
Champions for 2007.

Federer became only the second man to win the International
Tennis Federation's award in four straight years Monday, joining
Pete Sampras.

"Every year brings new challenges, and I am proud that I have
been able to raise the level of my game when needed," said
Federer, who won three Grand Slam titles this year and reached the
final at the French Open.

Henin, who received the award for the second straight year and
third time in her career, won two majors and the season-ending Sony
Ericsson Championships.

"This has definitely been the best season of my career," said
Henin, who was 63-4 with 10 titles in 2007 after skipping the
Australian Open for personal reasons related to splitting up with
her husband. "It has been a very challenging year overall, but I
have stayed positive and proved that nothing is impossible if you
work hard."

The ITF is awarded based on performances at both professional
tournaments and the Davis Cup or Fed Cup.

Bob and Mike Bryan won the doubles award for the men, and Cara
Black and Liezel Huber were the women's champions.