Hometown hero Sue Bird headlines WNBA All-Stars

Hometown hero Sue Bird of the Storm headlines the WNBA All-Star Game starters who will play in Seattle on July 22.

The league announced the starters Tuesday. Bird was voted to her 10th game, tying Tamika Catchings, who retired last year, for the most in WNBA history.

Bird, 36, is the oldest player in the WNBA this season, and is leading the league in assists at 6.7 per game. She was voted as a starter for the first time since 2011.

This year's game will take place at KeyArena (3:30 p.m. ET, ABC).

In all, five former MVPs were named starters, with three in the West's starting lineup.

Maya Moore, the 2014 MVP from the Minnesota Lynx, leads the West team. Elena Delle Donne, the 2015 MVP from the Washington Mystics, leads the East.

WNBA all-time points leader Diana Taurasi of Phoenix also made the West team at guard.

Two-time league MVP Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks and Moore's teammate Sylvia Fowles round out the starting West team.

The East starters have 2012 MVP Tina Charles of New York, league rebounding leader Jonquel Jones of Connecticut and her teammate, guard Jasmine Thomas.

In addition to Jones and Thomas, Atlanta guard Tiffany Hayes was also voted to her first All-Star Game.

Fans accounted for 50 percent of the vote to determine the starters, while current players and a media panel accounted for 25 percent each. Fans cast 604,680 votes, more than double the number in 2015 (280,670).

Among those not voted in as starters are league scoring leader Brittney Griner of Phoenix and last year's MVP, Nneka Ogwumike of Los Angeles.

Fan voting was the tiebreaker for players in the same position group with the same score. Parker (29,133 fan votes) won the tiebreaker with Sparks teammate Ogwumike (21,975).

All-Star reserves will be chosen by the East and West head coaches and will be announced July 18 during the Sky-Storm game on ESPN2 (9 p.m. ET).