Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi voted greatest WNBA player of all time by fans

Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi, on the day of Game 1 of her fourth WNBA Finals series, was named the league's greatest player of all time by fans.

Fan voting for "Vote for the GOAT" was part of the WNBA's celebration of its 25th season. Fans were able to vote for any members of "The W25" from Sept. 5 to 19.

Taurasi, a 17-year veteran, was given the award ahead of Sunday's 91-77 loss to the Chicago Sky. She has won three WNBA championships with the Phoenix, the team that drafted her first overall in 2004.

The 39-year-old star guard won her record fifth gold medal at the Tokyo Olympics this summer. In addition to winning titles with her wife and former teammate, Penny Taylor, in 2007, 2009 and 2014, Taurasi is also the league's career leader in points, field goals made and three-point field goals.

"This well-deserved recognition reflects her sustained excellence on the court and her leading role in advancing the WNBA and women's basketball and being a role model for young athletes everywhere. The opportunity to honor Dee is yet another special moment in celebration of our historic 25th season," WNBA commissioner Cathy Engelbert said while giving Taurasi a special ball ahead of Game 1.

Taurasi also received a "FUTURE GOAT" onesie Sunday as an ode to Taylor giving birth to the couple's second child following Phoenix's Game 5 win on Friday night.

An ESPN panel also ranked Taurasi as ESPN's No.1 all-time player. Tamika Catchings was atop the list based on statistics.

"The W25," which was unveiled on Sept. 5, includes 10 current players: Sue Bird, Tina Charles, Elena Delle Donne, Sylvia Fowles, Brittney Griner, Angel McCoughtry, Nneka Ogwumike, Candace Parker, Breanna Stewart and Taurasi.

Fifteen retired players rounded out the list of honorees: Seimone Augustus, Swin Cash, Tamika Catchings, Cynthia Cooper, Yolanda Griffith, Becky Hammon, Lauren Jackson, Lisa Leslie, Maya Moore, Ticha Penicheiro, Cappie Pondexter, Katie Smith, Sheryl Swoopes, Tina Thompson and Lindsay Whalen.